about tantra ...

Tantra-Experience, Lausanne
Tantra-Experience, Lausanne
Tantra-Experience, Lausanne

Born in India 5,000 years ago, Tantra is a holistic approach to life that embraces all aspects of the human: body, emotions, relationships, mind and spirit. It is an art of loving oneself, others and life as a whole. Its specificity is to cultivate vital energy, in full awareness, through various practices ranging from dynamic to meditative, individuals, in couples, in groups.

Tantra-Experience, Lausanne

The origins of Tantrism

Tantrism designates a set of texts, doctrines, rituals and initiation methods dating back several millennia. Its foundations are found in the Vedas, Indian sacred texts and in Buddhist texts. There are many schools of Tantra and as many practices, codes and rituals.

Tantra, a spiritual path

Tantra is a way of unfolding our consciousness, which positively includes sexual energy as a gateway to the Divine. It is a spirituality anchored in the body and a real art of living in the present moment, at the heart of the relationship with the Self, the other and the environment. It embraces all the experiences of life, to make it an experience of consciousness. In Tantra, it is said that the state of Samadhi or awakening is already present in us. It is enough to lift the veil of ignorance that prevents us from fully savouring it ...

Tantra-Experience, Lausanne
Tantra-Experience, Lausanne

The absence of dualism and the ego

The view of the world in tantra is non-dualistic. The notions of "material" and "spiritual", of "profane" and "sacred" meet and intermingle harmoniously in the reunified, complete Whole. The Universe is based on opposing qualities, and denying or rejecting any part of them upsets the balance and distorts the view of the whole. The ego feeds on “I like this and I don't like that”. Accepting duality is also accepting to go beyond this limiting representation of “me-I”, this illusion of believing oneself to be separated from the world and others (parts of Self). This invites us to experience the Union of opposites, the middle way, like a drop of water melting into the ocean.

The cosmic union of the sacred couple

To begin with, the union of the divine energy and the consciousness is indivisible. For the sake of explanation, tradition has pictured it as a couple, that of the god Shiva and the goddess Shakti. This couple represents the sacred figure of the balance between the feminine and the masculine where Shiva assumes the static aspect of consciousness while Shakti represents the dynamic aspect (energy). Hence, Tantra often places the feminine/masculine relation and polarity at the heart of practices.

Tantra-Experience, Lausanne
Tantra-Experience, Lausanne

Tantric practices

Despite the Western view of Tantra (often impoverished, distorted and limiting), it is in no way limited to only sexual dimension, even if it encompasses and transcends it. Vijnana-bhaïrava Tantra ("Tantra of Supreme Knowledge"), one of the oldest Shaivite texts, presents a set of 112 techniques or meditations aimed at expanding consciousness. Of these only 3 focus on sexuality. And for some schools of tantra, there is no need for sex, only meditation (mindfulness) allows access to Awakening.

Sacred sexuality

It is true, however, that other currents of tantra consider the conscious sexual act as a practice which can lead to supreme knowledge. The physical body is here a gateway to meet the divine. Freed from its tensions, as the practice progresses, it becomes a wonderful tool to refine the 5 senses and transform our consciousness. However, the practices and rites proposed are not rules to be followed, rather exercises to promote a receptive state and an anchoring in the present moment.

Tantra-Experience, Lausanne

au sujet du tantra...

Tantra-Experience, Lausanne
Tantra-Experience, Lausanne
Tantra-Experience, Lausanne

Né en Inde il y a 5 000 ans, le  Tantra  est une approche holistique de la vie qui embrasse tous les aspects de l’humain : corps, émotions, relations, affectif, mental, spirituel. C’est un art d’aimer soi-même, l’autre et la vie dans son ensemble. Sa spécificité est de cultiver l’énergie vitale, en pleine conscience, par des pratiques variées allant du dynamique au méditatif, seul, à deux, en groupe. 

Les origines du tantrisme

Le tantrisme désigne un ensemble de textes, de doctrines, de rituels et de méthodes initiatiques datant de plusieurs millénaires.  Ses fondements se trouvent dans les Védas, textes sacrés indiens et dans les textes bouddhistes. Il existe de très nombreuses écoles du Tantra et autant de pratiques, de codes et de rituels.

Le Tantra, une voie spirituelle

Le tantra est une voie d’épanouissement de notre conscience, qui inclut positivement l’énergie sexuelle comme porte d’accès au Divin. C’est une spiritualité ancrée dans le corps et un véritable art de vivre l’instant présent, au cœur de la relation avec Soi, l’autre et son environnement. Elle embrasse toute les expériences de la vie, pour en faire une expérience de conscience. Dans le Tantra il est dit que l’état de Samadhi ou éveil est déjà présent en nous , il s’agit de laisser tomber les voiles de l’ignorance qui nous empêchent de le savourer pleinement…

Tantra-Experience, Lausanne
Tantra-Experience, Lausanne

L’absence de dualisme et l’ego

La vision du monde dans le tantra est non-dualiste. Les notions de « matériel «  et « spirituel », de « profane » et « sacré » se rencontrent et s’entremêlent harmonieusement dans le Tout réunifié, complet. L’Univers repose sur les qualités opposées et nier ou rejeter une partie d’elles rompt l’équilibre et déforme la vision de la globalité. L’ego, se nourrit de « j’aime ceci et je n’aime pas cela », accepter la dualité, c’est aussi accepter de dépasser cette représentation limitante du « moi-je », cette illusion de se croire séparé du monde et des autres (parties de Soi). Cela nous invite à expérimenter l’Union des opposés, la voie du milieu, telle la goutte d’eau qui se fond dans l’océan.

L’union cosmique du couple sacré

Au stade premier, l’union de l’être et de sa divine énergie, sa conscience,  est indivisible. Pour les besoins de l’explication, la tradition l’a imagée comme un couple, celui du dieu Shiva et de la déesse Shakti. Ce couple représente la figure sacrée de l’équilibre entre le féminin et le masculin où Shiva assume l’aspect statique de la conscience alors que la Shakti en représente l’aspect dynamique (l'énergie). De ce fait, le Tantra met souvent au cœur des pratiques la relation et la polarité féminin/masculin.

Tantra-Experience, Lausanne
Tantra-Experience, Lausanne

Les pratiques tantriques

Malgré la vision occidentale du Tantra (souvent appauvrie, déformée et limitante), celui-ci ne se limite, en aucun cas, à la seule dimension sexuelle, même s’il l’englobe et la transcende. Le Vijnana-bhaïrava Tantra (« Tantra de la Connaissance Suprême »), l’un des textes shivaïtes des plus anciens, présente un ensemble de 112 techniques ou méditations visant l’expansion de la conscience, parmi lesquelles seulement 3 sont axées sur la sexualité. Et pour certaines écoles de tantra, il n’est pas besoin de relation sexuelle, la seule méditation (pleine conscience) permet d’accéder à l’Éveil.

La sexualité sacrée

Il est vrai toutefois que d’autres courants du tantra considèrent l’acte sexuel conscient comme une pratique pouvant mener à la connaissance suprême. Le corps physique est ici une porte d’entrée pour rencontrer le divin. Libéré de ses tensions, au fur et à mesure de la pratique, il devient un merveilleux outil à notre disposition pour raffiner les 5 sens et transformer la conscience. Cependant, les pratiques et les rites proposés ne sont pas des règles à suivre, mais uniquement des exercices pour favoriser un état réceptif et un ancrage dans le moment présent.